BJP gets new office bearers

1 Min
BJP gets new office bearers

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Nitin Gadkari on Tuesday Mar 16 constituted his team of office bearers three months after he was selected for the top party job.

It is a jumbo team with 13 vice presidents, 10 general secretaries, and 15 secretaries and with representation to all regions. In all, there are 40 women members in the new team.

Hema Malini, Najma Heptullah, BS Koshiyari, Kalraj Mishra, M A Naqvi, Vinay Katiyar and Shanta Kumar have been appointed BJP vice-presidents by Nitin Gadkari.

Navjot Singh Sidhu, Smriti Irani, and Varun Gandhi are made  general secretaries. Arjun Munda, Ananth Kumar, ex-Delhi mayor Arti Mehra and Ravi Shankar Prasad have also been appointed general  secretaries besides former Rajasthan chief minister Vasundhara Raje, who had openly rebelled against Gadkari’s predecessor,  Rajnath Singh..

Prakash Javadekar and Rajiv Pratap Rudy will continue as the  spokespersons. Piyush Goyal has been appointed treasurer.

BJP stalwarts Arun Shourie and Yashwant Sinha’s names are, however, missing from the list of new appointees.

Gadkari also constituted a 12-member parliamentary board. Gadkari will head the board which will include Atal Bihari Vajpayee, L.K. Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi, M. Venkaiah Naidu, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Bal Apte.